Skip to content

SO-CHIC, coordinated by Sorbonne Université (France), consists of 16 partners from 10 different countries (France, Germany, UK, Ireland, Sweden, Norway, Switzerland, Italy, Netherlands, and South Africa).

The consortium has a balanced mix of expert groups in high latitude ocean observations, expert groups in ocean carbon processes, expert groups in ocean processes modelisation and parameterisation, and expert groups in climate modelling.

The consortium has also mix of 7 leading universities, 2 of the main European polar research centres, 3 national research centres, 2 SMEs, and 1 independent organisation that focuses on defining major strategic priorities, and provision of advice and communication for both the Arctic and Antarctic regions.

FranceTilla Roy Director of ECOCEANA
FranceJean-Baptiste Sallee Coordinator of SO-CHIC
Research scientist in ocean and climate sciences, working for the French national research agency (CNRS)
Jacqueline Boutin Research director at the French national research agency (CNRS)
and based at LOCEAN lab of Sorbonne Université
Amélie Lecornec Project Manager of SO-CHIC
Gurvan Madec Research Director in ocean and climate sciences
Casimir de Lavergne
GermanyDr. Mario Hoppema Senior scientist in marine biogeochemistry
Prof. Dr. Torsten Kanzow Head of the section Physical Oceanography of the Polar Seas
Olaf Boebel Senior scientist in physical oceanography and ocean acoustics
GermanyWonsun Park Senior Scientist with extensive experiences in climate modelling
IrelandBrian WardOcean Researcher
ItalyAntonio Novellino ETT R&D Manager
Dr. Giuseppe Manzella Chair of the Historical Oceanography Society
Marco Alba WebGIS Developer team Leader
Norway Svein ØsterhusPhysical oceanographer
South AfricaDr Pedro MS Monteiro Chief Oceanographer at CSIR in South Africa
Dr Sarah Nicholson Expert in the dynamics of the response of the
upper ocean to storms and buoyancy forcing
SwedenSebastiaan Swart Co-Chair of the international Southern Ocean Observing System
Fabien Roquet Physical oceanographer
SwitzerlandNicolas Gruber Professor for Environmental Physics at ETH Zurich
The NetherlandsRenuka BadheExecutive Secretary of the European Polar Board
UK Simon Josey Professor of Oceanography
UKAlex BrearleyPhysical oceanographer
Mike MeredithPhysical oceanographer
Andrew Meijers Physical oceanographer
Povl Abrahamsen Physical oceanographer
UKAlberto Naveira Garabato Professor of Physical Oceanography
David Marshall Professor of Physical Oceanography in the Department of Physics
and Professorial Fellow of St Hugh’s College at the University of Oxford
UK Dr David Ferreira Associate Professor in the Department of Meteorology
at the University of Reading

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.